Skip to content

The R “add” io at Work…

November 4, 2011

I have recently been moved to another part of the office (still not in storage) and the woman next to me was told she could listen to the radio at “a reasonable volume.” This poses a serious problem for me.

As anyone who knows me well is aware, music is my obsession. I have a sizable collection, have been listening to rock music since the womb, and embarrassingly to say, can recite the words to better than 80% of what I hear on pop/rock radio. Also, when I hear a song I’m especially fond of, I’m incapable of paying attention to what I’m doing and subconsciously start mouthing the words and swaying from side to side in my chair. It doesn’t matter if I’m on the phone, someone is talking to me at my desk, or I’m in the middle of the hallway: if I can hear it, I’m going to break it down. Some gross offenses to corporate decorum in recent days have been at the hands of Journey’s “Don’t Stop Believing,” Gladys Knight and The Pips’ “Midnight Train to Georgia,” and Billy Joel’s “Only the Good Die Young.” There was also an incident last week during a Michael Jackson song…but we don’t need to go into that. Frankly, the FCC should investigate radio jockeys who play Billy Jean during the work week. God help this place if her Lite 98 radio ever plays “Shout” or “Superstition.”
Unfortunately, the radio station also plays commercials, which brings me to my most recent outburst and the cause for this post. Apparently, the Broadway adaptation of “The Lion King” is opening in Richmond and they are advertising it on the radio. This would not be a problem, except for the opening of the advertisement is the African woman yelling the Swahili “NAAAAANTS INGONYAMA” beginning part from the “Circle of Life” song.
I love the Lion King film. I loved the Lion King play. The first CD I ever owned was The Lion King soundtrack. I’m considering buying the Lion King blu-ray just incase my little cousin comes to visit and he wants to watch it. In fact, one of the only reasons I would consider having kids is so I could go out and buy other Disney movies without feeling ashamed of myself. Anyhow, back to the commercial…
At first, I’m in disbelief. Then I hear it again, verifying that it is, in fact, the only Swahilli chant I know. Then, I heard it a third time…
And I yelled it… like I was outdoors, or like I was Rafiki himself, holding the baby Simba for the whole Pride to behold. Only, I wasn’t outdoors nor am I a fictitious Baboon living in the Serengeti. I am an employee of a major corporation…and I was indoors…and everyone wondered how I got my job and what kind of medication I forgot to take that afternoon.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 6, 2012 2:27 pm

    i just happened to stumble here and your post made me laugh very hard. i’m so happy to have a child so that i have a valid excuse to watch disney movies 🙂

Leave a Reply

